With over 207 million subscribers worldwide, a wide range of TV shows, films, documentaries, and original content, Netflix is hands down the most popular subscription-based streaming service out there. 

While the most popular streaming service, Netflix surely is not the only one. Since 2019, we’ve seen the launch of a wide range of new online media streaming platforms aiming to take that title from Netflix. 

If you’ve found yourself spending more time on the other streaming platforms, ran out of things to watch on Netflix, or are looking to cut down on your monthly costs, then canceling your Netflix account is fairly straightforward. However, there are a few things you should keep in mind when deciding to cancel your Netflix subscription.

While Netflix makes it reasonably simple for you to cancel your Netflix account, how you cancel it will ultimately depend on how you set up your account to begin with.

How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription When You’re Billed Directly Through Netflix

Cancel Netflix Subscription Using a Web Browser

  1. Head to your web browser and visit Netflix.com
  2. Log in to your Netflix account and click on your profile icon
  3. Go to Account 
  4. On the Account page, under Membership & Billing click Cancel Membership
  5. On the confirmation page click Finish Cancellation

Alternatively, if you’re already signed in to your Netflix account on your browser, you can simply visit netflix.com/CancelPlan and click on Finish Cancellation.

Cancel Netflix Subscription Using Your Android Phone or Tablet

  1. Open the Netflix app on your phone or tablet and click on your profile icon
  2. Click on Account. A new window will open on your device’s web browser that will take you directly to your Netflix Account page
  3. On the Account page, under Membership & Billing click Cancel Membership
  4. On the confirmation page click Finish Cancellation

Cancel Netflix Subscription Using Your iPhone or iPad

  1. Head straight to your web browser and visit Netflix.com
  2. Log in to your Netflix account
  3. Tap the three vertical lines in the upper left-hand corner and click on Account
  4. On the Account page, under Membership & Billing click Cancel Membership
  5. On the confirmation page click Finish Cancellation

How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription When Billed Via a Third-Party Service

If you are being billed through a third-party service and not directly through Netflix, then you cannot cancel your Netflix subscription via Netflix. Instead, follow the steps below. 

Cancel Netflix Subscription Through iTunes

  1. Open the Settings app on your iOS device
  2. Head to Apple ID at the top of the Setting page
  3. Click on Subscriptions and locate Netflix in the list
  4. Tap Cancel Subscription and then Confirm

Cancel Netflix Subscription Through Google Play

  1. Open the Google Play Store app on your Android device
  2. Tap the menu button on the top left corner and click on Subscriptions
  3. Locate Netflix from the list of active subscriptions and click on Cancel Membership

Cancel Netflix Subscription Through Amazon

  1. Log in to your Amazon Prime account – https://www.amazon.com/amazonprime
  2. Head to Accounts & Lists
  3. Click on Memberships & Subscriptions 
  4. On the View menu select Active Subscriptions 
  5. Locate Netflix on the list and click on Cancel your subscription plan

What Happens When You Cancel Netflix

When canceling Netflix, you will receive a cancellation confirmation in your email. This means that you won’t incur any more membership charges in the future. 

However, you can continue watching Netflix until the end of your current billing period. You can see when your current billing period ends under Billing details on your Account page. 

What Happens to Your Account Data When You Cancel Netflix

Canceling your Netflix subscription does not mean that your Netflix account is automatically deleted. Netflix will keep your account data, such as your viewing history and favorites, for 10 more months after your account cancellation. 

Important: If someone logs in to your account during this 10 month period, they will be able to reactivate your subscription. So if you’re sharing your account with other people, it’s best to change your password after canceling your subscription. This way, you can avoid someone else logging in and reactivating the subscription. 

If you want Netflix to delete your account and all your account data immediately, you should send them an email to “[email protected]com” via the email address linked to your Netflix account. It won’t work if you send it using another email address, even if you mention your linked email.

What Happens to Your Gift Card or Promotional Balance When You Cancel Netflix

When you cancel Netflix but still have an active gift card or promotional balance, you can continue streaming for as many months as you have left on your gift card or promotional balance. Your cancellation request will be put into effect once the Netflix gift card or promotional balance is maxed out. 

What Happens When You Cancel Netflix and Your Account is on Hold

When Netflix is not able to collect your latest payment, they will put your account on hold. If you cancel your Netflix subscription while your account is on hold, the account will be closed immediately, and you will not be charged again until you decide to restart your account and update your payment method. 

Can You Pause Your Netflix Subscription?

It is not possible to put your Netflix subscription on pause. However, if you want to take a break from Netflix, you can cancel your Netflix membership and return within the 10 month period that Netflix holds your account data. This way, when you reactivate your account, you will be able to start exactly where you left off. 

How to Reactivate Your Netflix Subscription After Canceling It

To reactivate your Netflix account, you simply have to sign in to your Netflix account and Restart Your Membership on your Account page.

How to Get Netflix for Cheaper

If you’re canceling Netflix to cut down costs, you may consider switching to a different Netflix plan. As you can see in the table below, there are three different Netflix subscription plans: basic, standard, and premium. Each plan determines the number of screens you can watch Netflix on simultaneously and the highest video quality you can stream on. 

So, if you’re subscribed to the standard or premium plan, there may be an easy way for you to get Netflix for cheaper. 

PlanBasicStandardPremium
Price$8.99$13.99$17.99
Number of screens you can watch on at the same time124
Number of mobile devices or tablets you can download to124
Highest video qualitySD (480p)Full HD (1080p)Ultra HD (4k)

How to Change Your Netflix Subscription Plan

  1. Log in to Netflix and visit your Account page
  2. Under Plan Details click on Change Plan
  3. Select the plan you want to switch to and press Continue, then Confirm Change

What Happens When you Change Your Netflix Plan

  • A plan downgrade (lower plan) will be effective on your next billing term. Until the end of your current billing term, you can continue to use the features of your current (higher) plan. 
  • A plan upgrade will be effective immediately, even though you will be billed the higher price on your next billing date.

Alternatives to Netflix

Whether you’re done with Netflix or decided to take a break, there are other streaming platforms you can explore as alternatives. Find below the most popular streaming services that are worth considering for your next binge. 

Streaming servicePrice start at (per month)Free trialAdsDownload for offline viewingCountries available
Netflix$8.99NoNoYes190
Disney Plus$7.99NoNoYes61
Amazon Prime Video$8.99 (free if you’re a Prime member)30 dayNoYes200
HBO Max$9.99NoYes (upgrade to a more expensive plan to remove ads)Yes190
Paramount Plus$4.997 dayNoYes60
Hulu$6.9930 dayYes (upgrade to a more expensive plan to remove ads)YesUSA, Japan